Thomas Sedelius

Personlig presentation av Thomas Sedelius

Professor statsvetenskap, Statsvetenskap

Position, academic degrees and titles

Professor of Political Science, Dalarna University, 2018/04/01--

Associate Professor (docent) in Political Science, Dalarna University, 2012/06/01

PhD in Political Science, Örebro University, 2006/06/21

Master in Politics, Örebro University, 2000/10

Research areas: comparative politics, democratisation, political institutions, executive politics, Central and Eastern Europe, presidentialism, parliamentarism, semi-presidentialism, political parties.

Teaching: comparative politics, thesis supervision, social science methods, international relations, democratization, and more. 7000+ hrs of teaching at different programmes, courses and levels (2000--).

PhD-supervision: Maarika Kujanen (co-supervisor, 2020-), Jenny Åberg (main supervisor, PhD 2020), Veronica De Majo (co-supervisor, 2011-), Eva Hämberg (main supervisor, PhD 2017), Erik Lundberg (co-supervisor, PhD 2014).

Grants and awards:

2020: Academy of Finland, 480 000 EUR: "Taming the Presidents? Exploring the Links between Presidential Activism, Policy-Making Capacity and Regime Legitimacy" (co-applicant, PI: Tapio Raunio, Tampere University)

2015: East European Politics Prize 2013, (Best article award )

2014: Swedish Research Council (VR), 5.7 MSEK, “Semi-Presidentialism and Governability in Transitional Regimes” (project leader, main applicant))

2012: Forte 2.9 MSEK, ”Social tillsyn i teori och praktik” (co-applicant)

2006: Swedish Research Council (VR): 3.4 MSEK “The Dynamics of Hybrid Regimes” (co-applicant)

Commission of trust 2012- 

2021--: Chair of the Standing Group on Presidential Politics, ECPR

2020-2021: Research Director [forskningsledare] of the Research Profile Intercultural Studies (ISTUD), DU

2019--: Vice Chairman, Doctoral Programmes Board [Forskarutbildningsnämnden], DU 

2017-2020, 2020-2022: Member of the Dalarna University Board 

2010-14, 2017-2019: Head Representative [Ämnesföreträdare] of Political Science Department, DU 

2017-2019: Deputy Research Director [bitr. forskningsledare] of the Research Profile Intercultural Studies (ISTUD), DU

2015-: Steering Committe Member of the ECPR SG on Presidential Politics

2014-15: Faculty Dean, DU

2012-14: Faculty vice Dean, DU  


Google Scholar: